JC Myth (10.4): Our Legacy: “We Are Free”

JC Myth Picture for Blog

Chapter Ten: Our Legacy: “We Are Free”

We don’t need a devil to blame our bad deeds on, a savior to pay for them, or a magic fairy godfather/godmother to grant our wishes and allow us to live in his/her fancy kingdom with a golden street (if we only believe with all of our little hearts that it is so). The Bible came to us via myths, some clever magic may have been performed to help us believe it, and it was originally nothing but a metaphor. If we would use the Bible for good, that would be wonderful. Unfortunately, Christianity and other Abrahamic religions promote disunity, discord, hate, and war. We criticize, ostracize, and kill one another over whose myth is the truest—over which superhero (Superman, Batman, or Spider-Man) is the greatest. It was supposedly the Word that reconciled man to Yahweh. He spoke and it was so. As Isaiah 55:11 says, “God’s word went forth from his mouth, didn’t return to him void, but accomplished what he wanted and prospered in the thing to which he sent it.” Jesus was, after all, the savior of the world, not just believers (Jn. 4:42, 1 Jn. 4:14). Of course, some say the world is Israel only (Jews and the dispersed Israelites), and that salvation was accomplished in the first century CE never to be repeated (Gen. 17:5-14, 35:10-11; Deut. 32:9; Ps. 147:19-20; Isa. 11:11-12, 61:9; Jer. 31:31; Ezek. 37:21-28; Mic. 5:8; Mt. 4:15, 10:6, 15:24, 19:28; Lk. 1:32-33; Jn. 1:10-11, 7:35; Acts 2:36, 6:1-2, 21:21, 23:6, 24:15, 28:20; Rom. 4:11-19, 11:25-27; 1 Cor. 10:11; Eph. 2:11-12; Heb. 9:15; 1 Pet. 1:5; 1 Jn. 2:18; Jude 1:15-19; Rev. 21:3, 12). If indeed Jesus was the savior of Israel only—since Israel was Yahweh’s inheritance and the only people over whom he had authority—or this salvation happened in the past and won’t be repeated, we who are living today and/or are not Israelites can happily ignore Yahweh’s promises and death threats. But, as I noted in footnote number 784, it isn’t the purpose of this book to determine whether the Bible teaches the salvation of Israel only or the whole world. Therefore (assuming Yahweh eventually took all humanity under his wing), according to the Bible, the Word accomplished its purpose of reconciliation. So, believers or non-believers, we can all relax. Mommy and Daddy are back together and all is right with our world. Robert Farrar Capon wrote:

“Christianity is the proclamation of the end of religion, not of a new religion, or even the best of all possible religions. And therefore if the cross is the sign of anything, it’s the sign that God has gone out of the religion business and solved all the world’s problems without requiring a single human being to do a single religious thing.[1]

Mommy is back home, Daddy is sexually satisfied, and life goes on “forever and ever.”

I was lying in bed one night thinking about how I have drastically changed my religious views, and suddenly I had what I would call, for lack of a better term, a spiritual experience. It dawned on me that no god put a man and woman in a pit with a monstrous snake, no god drowned innocent children and newborn puppies or ripped apart mothers to abort their babies, no god picked a “pet” among his children to fight and kill his other children over a piece of ground, no god murdered his own son because of his unforgiving nature, and no god is going to burn anyone. No god like that exists! When that thought struck me, the most amazing relief came over me. I felt what seemed like chains begin to break apart all over my body, falling at my feet. As I watched I realized that they weren’t chains after all but brown scales; and they literally covered every inch of me to the point that they were my body. I had been hidden or disguised by them so that my true body wasn’t apparent. I watched the scales fall and listened as they clinked onto the floor. And what emerged was a smooth pink body that radiated a soft white glow. I was light, glowing and producing heat. I was wispy as a feather and could float into the air. I was at peace. I felt joy. I was reborn. I was free. I believe the truth has set me free.

See, I have visions too. But I don’t plan on teaching them as doctrine and attempting to gather a following based on them. Robert M. Price said that

“as long as the individual prophet is the only one to believe as he does, we call him insane. We say he has a delusion, because he is the only one navigating by this compass, on these particular seas. . . And after a while, when enough people believe it, we no longer call it a delusion. We call it a religion.”[2]

Karen Armstrong wrote, “As an epileptic, I had flashes of vision that I knew to be a mere neurological defect: had the visions and raptures of the saints also been a mere mental quirk?”[3] Shouldn’t we consider the possibility that biological, psychological, political, and environmental issues might have come into play with regard to the visions and god-encounters of the ancients?

I don’t have an answer to whether a god exists or what he/she/it might be like. Martin Luther “doubted the possibility of proving the existence of God.”[4] Even Mother Teresa had her reservations about his existence.[5] The fact that people say they have faith proves they don’t have knowledge of a god, and especially the god Yahweh. Religions are based on faith, and faith is not fact; if we could call a god’s existence a fact, then faith would disappear. I believe the Bible is about nature. It’s about sex. It’s about love. It’s about life. And life eventually comes to an end. When we die we go either to the tomb-womb of Mother Earth or to some realm or dimension we know nothing about, perhaps to be resurrected through reincarnation in a new spring or to live “somewhere out there” (or maybe we remain right here but operate on a different frequency or vibration).

Again, I don’t know whether there is a god or what happens after this life, and neither does anyone else. And we all know we don’t know. I think it’s time we admit this truth. Obviously, I have a hope that our consciousness continues after death. Events in my life make me believe we may be eternal. But my visions (yes, I have had my share), encounters, revelations, and beliefs are mine alone, and should be given no more credence than any other person’s. I don’t expect anyone to accept them as true; likewise, I have no obligation to take on the beliefs of anyone else, whether the person be a prophet, priest, preacher, or poet. Our faith, or lack of faith, is personal; and we have every right to our own thinking on spiritual matters. As someone said, “Religion is like a penis. It’s fine to have one and it’s fine to be proud of it, but please don’t whip it out in public and start waving it around. And please don’t try to shove it down my child’s throat.”

So, as for what I say, everyone is free to ignore it, ponder it, or research the matter on his or her own. If what I’ve said seems false, may all reject it; if it rings true, I hope all will consider it. Surely I have presented enough evidence to at least prompt the reader to do a thorough study of the life and times of the Israelite god Yahweh and a more in-depth and impartial investigation of his so-called book. At the least, I pray that Christians will think twice before judging and condemning their fellow man based on the “high and holy” thinking of a people who didn’t even know human trafficking was wrong.

Tina Rae Collins

My goal is to share my book The Judaeo-Christian Myth one article at a time. If you find these articles interesting or you don’t think I’ll reach my goal (always a possibility, I suppose), and/or you just can’t wait, you can purchase the book by clicking on the picture above or the title in this paragraph. Thanks for reading!

[1] Robert Farrar Capon, The Mystery of Christ . . . & why we don’t get it (Grand Rapids, MI: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co., 1993), 62. [2] Robert M. Price, “He Really Is Santa Claus,” robertmprice.mindvendor.com, 1996, 2007, web, 10 Apr. 2015. [3] Armstrong, xviii-xix. [4] Armstrong, 278. [5] Michelle Singer, “Letters Reveal Mother Teresa’s Secret,” cbsnews.com, 23 Aug. 2007, web, 14 Nov. 2014.

 

Leave a Reply

